Punk Online

ASTPAI hit the UK in support of their new record, ‘True Capacity’

ASTPAI hit the UK in support of their new record, ‘True Capacity’

AstpaiNext week see’s Austrian melodic-punks, ASTPAI hit the UK in support of their fantastic new record, ‘True Capacity’.

The record has picked up fantastic reviews to date including Punk Online’s review here >>

The band will hit the UK for a run of 5 headline shows that follow on from an extensive EU schedule which has seen them on the road with Descendents, A Wilhelm Scream and Not Scientists.

UK Tour:
14 AUG – Brighton UK, Sticky Mike’s Frog Bar
15 AUG – London UK, The Lock Tavern
16 AUG – Bristol UK, Exchange
17 AUG – Manchester UK, Fuel Cafe
18 AUG – Cardiff UK, The Big Top

Further info:

Austrian melodic-punk rock quartet, ASTPAI have released their fifth studio album, ‘True Capacity’ this June. The record features 10 tracks of melody infused ragers, that the Viennese punks have become renowned for all over the world. ‘True Capacity’ sees the band continue their relationship with Jump Start Records in the US, as well as seeing Shield Recordings handling all things in Europe.

Speaking on the record, vocalist, Zock said, “When re-reading all the lyrics before recording, the word that stuck out the most is the word ‘mind’ – I feel like the older I get, the less my brain/mind/sanity/happiness manages to catch up and adjust to the ongoing impact of both useful and useless information – I’ve been going through really dark and intense phases of feeling absolutely full…you know, like a hard drive that reached its limit.
“The term “True capacity” is used to describe the maximum limit of production of (industrial) machines. I like the thought of using this term, comparing the way that it describes the capabilities of something soulless like a machine and the human brain/mind. The artwork underlines this idea in the way that our brains and emotions are unable to compute all the information we’re given. Daantje Bons really hit the nail on the head with her amazing cover photo. 

“The lyrics on the album are a little less analytical and a little more ‘philosophical’ i guess…they’re all based on personal experiences, some turned out somewhat political, most are either self-critical, self-analytical and at their very core, a sign of exhaustion, sometimes disappointment, but also love and admiration, related to depressing situations and experiences.“

‘True Capacity’ has seen ASTPAI team up with Tom Zwanzger at S.T.R.E.S.S Studios, Graz for engineering and production. The band also enlisted close friend Chris Cresswell of The Flatliners for vocal production. The record was mixed by J Robbins at Magpie Cage, Baltimore USA and mastered by Dan Coutant at Sun Room Audio, Cornwall NY USA.

Having played their debut concert in August 2001 followed by the release of two full-length demos in 2002 and 2003, ASTPAI first started to attract international attention with their albums “Feeling Safe in Programmed Channels“ in 2005 and “Corruption Concealed (Under Deceptive Slogans)“ in 2006, the later being released and re-released several times in Europe and North America (Rise Or Rust Records for Austria, Fond Of Life Records for Mainland Europe, Jump Start Records for the US and Canada) accompanied by a number of tours throughout the European mainland in 2007.

The following year saw ASTPAI head stateside for the first time for a five-week tour along the US east coast and mid-west, as well as a four-week tour throughout the European mainland. In the same year, a split-cd with the UK’s Attack! Vipers! Was released on We Heart Records (UK) and Laserlife Records (EU).

2009 through early 2011 consisted of relentless touring including a six week, full US and Canadian tour, as well as a total of 20 weeks touring in Western and Eastern Europe, including the bands’ first shows in Greece and Russia. In addition to all the touring, ASTPAI managed to find time to release the fan favorite and critically acclaimed full-length “Heart To Grow“ (Ass-Card Records for Mainland Europe, No Reason Records for Italy, Jump Start Records for the US and Canada) in 2010, as well as two seven-inches, “The Scavenger“ (Jump Start Records) and “On Your Own“ (Laserlife Records).

The group’s fourth full-length, “Efforts And Means“ (Ass Card Records, Jump Start Records, No Reason Records) was released in June 2012, followed by the seven-inch and digital EP “Crohnicles“ (Ass Card Records, Shield Recordings, Jump Start Records) in October 2013, along with 230 shows spanning two years of constant touring.

2014 saw ASTPAI tour the UK and EU supporting RX Bandits, A Wilhelm Scream, The Smith Street Band, Restorations and Only Crime, as well as main stage appearances at Groezrock in Belgium and Mighty Sounds Festival in the Czech Republic. A month-long Euro tour was then followed by a return to The Fest in Gainesville, Florida in October making 2014 the bands’ busiest year ever, playing just under 140 shows.

In between all the touring, ASTPAI managed to release their fifth and strongest full-length titled “Burden Calls“ in August 2014 (Ass Card Records, Jump Start Records), marking the band’s biggest leap forward into a busy 2015, including a main stage appearance at Punk Rock Holiday in Tolmin, Slovenia and their sixth appearance at The Fest. “Burden CAlls“ was followed by the 2016 collection of B-sides release appropriately dubbed “Run From Home“ (Ass Card Records, Jump Start Records).

After a short break in early 2017, the band took just enough time off to work on the long overdue follow up to “Burden Calls“. With “True Capacity“ now ready to be released, ASTPAI still managed to tour the US twice, including an appearance at Big Pre-Fest followed by another set in Gainesville at The Fest.

‘True Capacity’ is available on all formats through Jump Start Records and Shield Recordings.


Punk Online

All views and opinions are entirely our own.

We aim to be as accurate as possible with gig dates and venues but cannot be held responsible if any are incorrect. Please check with the venues if you are unsure.