Punk Online

CARL MOORCROFT – ‘On The Road’ Review

CARL MOORCROFT – ‘On the Road’

carl-moorcroftHere at Punk Online we are a little partial to some acoustic punk rock and Carl Moorcroft does not disappoint. After years fronting some Liverpool based punk bands, Moorcroft has reworked his songs into an acoustic album that is simply sensational (as Tony Blackburn would have said).

Starting with the title track On the Road there are immediate and somewhat obvious comparisons with Frank Turner (both have strong voices and play a mean acoustic guitar) – Tea or Coffee presents a more urgent approach and a protest song vibe.

Today is different again as Moorcroft demonstrates his variety in songwriting. You can imagine this song with full band as a powerful anthem although it doesn’t lack for power stripped down to voice and acoustic guitar. This is the take on the entire album – it’s very powerful, urgent and in-your-face – well sung and well played throughout.

The 4th track – Judgement – starts with some almost Spanish flamenco guitar and goes onto demonstrate some damn good guitar work throughout. It’s one of the stand out tracks on an excellent album.

For You slows things down a little into more of a ballad whereas All About Me takes the ballad style and amps it up a little as it tells a story in true Frank Turner style. The lyrics focus on personal politics rather than the wider world but there is an energy present on every song as Moorcroft delivers with a good amount of passion.

The eight track album closes with Reckless and combines some really fast and intricate chord strumming with melodic folk vocals. It’s a pleasing end to a pleasing listen and we’re looking forward to hearing more.

Check Carl out here: https://carlmoorcroft.bandcamp.com/releases

Stumpy – Punk Online


Track Listing

  1. On The Road
  2. Tea or Coffee
  3. Today
  4. Judgement
  5. Deep Fried
  6. For You
  7. All About Me
  8. Reckless