Punk Online

EAT DEFEAT Release New Video For ‘Can’t Say I’ll Miss You’

EAT DEFEAT Release New Video For ‘Can’t Say I’ll Miss You’

Eat DefeatAhead of the release of their new album, I Think We’ll Be OK, set for release on 3rd August 2018 via Bearded Punk Records, Leeds punks Eat Defeat have shared the new video/single for ‘Can’t Say I’ll Miss You’.

Having become renowned for their upbeat deep-and-meaningful brand of melodic punk rock, ‘Can’t Say I’ll Miss You’ is another fine addition to the Eat Defeat catalogue.

“It’s less about a bad breakup and more about an inevitable breakup, when you get to a point in a relationship where you realise neither of you aregetting anything out of it and you’re just bringing each other down,”comments vocalist Andrew Summers.

“It becomes a drain and there’s this obvious realisation that one of you is going to have to be the one to end it, and I guess in this scenario I was the one who ended it. It was a pretty cathartic song to write really.”

The single also comes ahead of the band setting off on an extensive UK tour through late July and early August, kicking off on Tuesday evening.

Commenting on the dates, Summers continues: “We’re hitting some of our favourite places and playing with some of our favourite UK bands like Havelocke, Arms & Hearts and Dynamite Dynamite. It’s been so long since we’ve done a solid UK run, and we really want to do everything we can to make the shows special.”

Two years in the making, I Think We’ll Be Ok details the highs and lows of a life lived on your own terms; the freedom that comes with the realisation that you are in control of your own destiny mirrored with the existential dread which that realisation entails. It’s about finding the positives amongst the negative and reassuring yourself that life gets better. It’s about light and dark, night and day and coping with relationships divided by timezones. It’s about accepting that it’s alright to not be alright.

Recorded during the spring of 2018 at The Nave studios in Leeds with producer Andy Hawkins, ‘I Think We’ll Be Ok’ was a concerted effort to try and retain the hooks and the energy of the previous offering whilst bringing in new ideas and production techniques to push the bands sound forward. As a result, the album is more evenly paced than it’s predecessor but densely layered, bringing in keyboards and synth sounds to make for a more varied and considered collection of songs.

I Think We’ll Be OK will be released on vinyl, CD and digital download through Bearded Punk Records on 03 August 2018.



Eat Defeat UK Tour Dates:

31 JUL – Paradiddles, Worcester
01 AUG – Poco Loco, Chatham
02 AUG – New Cross Inn, London (w. This Is A Standoff)
03 AUG – The Mulberry Tavern, Sheffield
04 AUG – The Key Club, Leeds
05 AUG  – Old Town House, Warrington
07 AUG – The Lincoln Imp, Scunthorpe
08 AUG – Fulford Arms, York
09 AUG – Bloc, Glasgow
10 AUG – Redrum, Stafford



Punk Online

All views and opinions are entirely our own.

We aim to be as accurate as possible with gig dates and venues but cannot be held responsible if any are incorrect. Please check with the venues if you are unsure.