Punk Online

GRAND COLLAPSE – ‘Along The Dew’ Album Review


Grand CollapseDue to release on TNS Records on May 19th, Cardiff’s hardcore punks, Grand Collapse follow their excellent debut album Far From The Callous Crowd with Along The Dew. The album is full of energy, many moments of aural intrigue and, as with their debut album, the album artwork is a woodcut print made by the amazing artist John Abell.

The opening and title track, Along The Dew, just gets straight into it after a few seconds of the sound of waves, the guitar kicks in and we’re off…some superb manic drumming, aggressive as all hell vocals and monster riffs played at breakneck speed creates a sound as powerful as anything we’ve heard so far this year. The band is fronted by the son of the dearly departed Stig of Icons of Filth but they stand alone as a unique addition to the punk world. The melodic respite in the middle of Along The Dew shows that Grand Collapse are way more intricate than your run of the mill hardcore punk band.

After three years of touring, the band took to the studio in 2016 and they seem to have benefitted from the road time. Thrissel Street is a full on aural assault played at 100mph and relentless in its intensity. The third track of the eleven, Turncoat, begins with some feedback but there is no let up in pace. The intricate guitar licks and swift tempo changes add to the atmosphere of sophistication underneath all of the rage…phew it’s extreme stuff!

Though Bloodshot and Blurry maintains the momentum and adds some vocal treatments that enhance the overall sound and lead us into Deep Rooted, a track that simply rocks – hardcore punk rock at it’s most powerful – bottled chaos in a sub-three minute package!

On Omission, Grand Collapse channel Amebix/Antisect with a churning rhythmic opening that just gives a few seconds of pause and then just lurches into an all out speed-fest that continues into Fragment with the latter combining some superb chord work with those incredible drums.

Chalk & Flint is about as angry a punk rock that you will hear this year and it leads into the 37 second, Luciano Pozetto the big game hunter who died falling off a cliff whilst hunting animals – good riddance. Llygaid Gwyrdd is just over a minute in length packing in tempo changes and power chords a plenty.

Closing the superb album with Trapped, Grand Collapse show us a mellower opening that builds brilliantly to a melodic yet hardcore effort that is one of the strongest tracks of the 11…loved it and loved the entire angry, chaotic, powerful package.

The album is available to pre-order now on red vinyl and CD. It will be dispatched the week of its release on 19th May!


You can catch Grand Collapse on tour in the UK in May/June. Here are the gigs they have coming up:

20 May: Bristol – Stag & Hounds
25 May: Cardiff – Moon Club
26 May: Leeds – Temple of Boom
27 May: Sheffield – Lughole
28 May: York – Fulford Arms
29 May: Dundee – Conroy’s Basement
30 May: Glasgow – Nice N’ Sleazy
31 May: Edinburgh – Banshee Labyrinth
1 June: Liverpool – Drop th Dumbulls
2 June: Belfast – The Warzone
3 June: Dublin – Jigsaw
9 June: Newport – Le Pub



Punk Online

All views and opinions are entirely our own.

We aim to be as accurate as possible with gig dates and venues but cannot be held responsible if any are incorrect. Please check with the venues if you are unsure.