Punk Online

HOSTILE MINDS – ‘Violent Society’ Review

hostile-mindsAnother release from the Netherlands based Rebellion Records – the full album from Hostile Minds. We reviewed the three track E.P. called ‘No Innocence’ by the band back in January and as that release is pretty much sold out, punters will be pleased to hear that all three songs appear on this nine track debut album.

One of those tracks, No Innocence comes up as the second number on the album and it sets the stage for the very strong and accomplished set of songs. The bands’ promotional material refers to an Oi! Flavor but I feel they cross over into the punk of Rudimentary Peni. The lyrics are certainly focused on working class issues best exemplified by Class Pride.

Psychopath launches into a full frontal attack after an instrumental build up. The U.K. Subs came to mind as I listened to this one. Your Own Agenda displays a different side to the band with the guitar more in the background leaving some tight drumming and bass to propel a real foot stomping punk classic forward.

Nasty Bastard is the one song on the album that veers directly into solid Oi! Territory lambasting a wife and child beater. We reviewed Same Old Shit and Been There on the original EP and both are very robust punk songs.

The album ends with Growing Old Gracefully, a song that features some intricate chords and timing changes whilst the lyrics celebrate the working class lifestyle – it’s an upbeat song displaying the talent of one of our favourite bands of 2016 to date!

Get the album here>>>

Stumpy – Punk Online


Track Listing

  1. Snakes
  2. No Innocence
  3. Class Pride
  4. Psychopath
  5. Your Own Agenda
  6. Nasty Bastard
  7. Been There
  8. Same Old Shit
  9. Growing Old Gracefully



Punk Online

All views and opinions are entirely our own.

We aim to be as accurate as possible with gig dates and venues but cannot be held responsible if any are incorrect. Please check with the venues if you are unsure.