Punk Online

MARCO POLIO – ‘Wait and See’ Review

marco-polioThe latest release from Plattsburgh, New York folk punk act Marco Polio is titled ‘Wait and See’.  The album brings together bits of lo-fi bedroom folk and fuzzed out basement pop punk, welded together by vocalist and songwriter Matt Hall and Rochester, New York based multi-instrumentalist Peter House.

Opening with Grow Up a well-produced folk-punk song with the great “I’ve got two words for you….GROW UP!”

Time to Go reminded me a little of fellow New York State punk folkie, Jeffrey Lewis with the vocal treatment over an urgent acoustic guitar. Track four, Sleight of Hand brings in some keyboards and a slower guitar approach – it’s a very melodic backing to spoken word style vocals.

Deer Ticks although still acoustically driven actually harkens back to the early Clash with its chord approaches and fast base backing. It’s one of the stronger tracks of the eleven on the album but, in my opinion is bettered by Watching You a track with some great electric guitar and fast drums – it’s full on punk rock!

The electric guitar continues as an introduction to Sleep Song a track that is slower than its two predecessors but still very powerful. Certain Kind of Love opens with a heavy bass riff and then launches into a fuzz guitar and echo-vocals beauty. The album ends with Been to the Mountaintop and it neatly introduces some nifty acoustic guitar work that Olga from the Toy Dolls would be proud of.

Marco Polio have recorded, engineered and produced a very good folk-punk album.


The album is available on limited edition cassette and digital download through marcopolio.bandcamp.com (also iTunes, Spotify, Google Play, Amazon, and about 100 other digital outlets).

Stumpy – Punk Online


Track Listing

  1. Grow Up
  2. Wait and See
  3. Time to Go
  4. Sleight of Hand
  5. Just Say When
  6. Deer Ticks
  7. Watching You
  8. Sleep Song
  9. Burn
  10. Certain Kind of Love
  11. Been to the Mountaintop