Punk Online

MENACE BEACH – ‘Black Rainbow Sound’ Album Review

MENACE BEACH – Black Rainbow Sound

Menace BeachThe new album from Leeds, UK-based Menace Beach was released on August 31st via Memphis Industries. Black Rainbow Sound is the band’s first new material since early 2017’s Lemon Memory, and after a self-imposed break from tour duties, the album exhibits a shift in their sound.

The album contains songs featuring Brix Smith of The Fall, and Brix and the Extricated and it utilizes vintage electronic instruments to construct a unique sound throughout. The album opens with the title track, Black Rainbow Sound where a reverb drenched stark guitar is joined by male/female vocal harmonies reminiscent of psychedelic 1960s bands such as The Byrds. The song develops into a pulsating rocker with spoken word vocals competing with the harmonies and the follow up, Satellite, goes a little more Lo-Fi with those analog synthesizers underpinning a hazy female vocal with varying elements of atonality creating another worldly atmosphere.

The four-minute plus Crawl In Love explores yet more analogue electronic instruments before exploding into an anthemic and rhythmic song with those hints of 1960s psychedelic sounds whilst Tongue has a danceable rhythm under some sprawling vocals before some fuzzed out guitars add an edge! Mutator offers a mid-paced electronic extravaganza with a pounding beat and accessible vocal with, dare I say it, hints of The Fall!

8000 Molecules is a spaced out, Spacemen 3 like drum machine backed ballad with major shoegaze credentials and Hypnotiser Keeps The Ball Rolling has elements of The Cramps, Sisters Of Mercy, B-52s and Crisis all crunched into an alien rocker! With Holy Crew, the analogue keyboards, simple drum machine and distant, high pitched female vocals compete with segments of noise and the penultimate track, Watermelon explores these elements further with more atonality creeping in before the track launches into a powerful riff and beat that had us sitting up and taking notice!

This intriguing album concludes with (Like) Rainbow Juice with it’s weird off-key organ, spacey keyboards and mellow vocals that build into higher energy sections before coming back down to the signature psychedelic sound.


Order Black Rainbow Sound by Menace Beach here: https://menacebeach.bandcamp.com/

See Menace Beach live:

18 Oct – Derby, The Hairy Dog
20 Oct – Birmingham, Hare & Hounds
22 Oct – Glasgow, Broadcast
23 Oct – Newcastle, The Cluny 2
24 Oct – Manchester, Deaf Institute
25 Oct – London, Oslo
26 Oct – Bristol, Rough Trade
27 Oct – Sheffield, Picture House Social
02 Nov – Leeds, Brudenell Social Club