Punk Online

NELSON CAN – ‘EP3’ Review


Nelson CanDanish trio, Nelson Can will release their new record, EP3 on Alcopop! Records on 29th September 2017. The band return to the UK later this year supporting JAWS on several of their November 2017 headline our dates (see below for details) – tickets are on sale now:

The Danish trio was founded in 2011 and started out as an outright lie – there was no band, the girls just really wanted to tell people that they were in one, so they did. It was too embarrassing to admit they didn’t have a band, so they decided to go ahead and form one.

With a noticeable lack of guitars, their back-to-basics, drum and bass orientated sound is original and simple, inspired by acts like The White Stripes, Yeah Yeah Yeahs and Siouxsie and the Banshees. In the last few years Nelson Can have toured across most of Europe, supporting the likes of The Black Keys and Royal Blood.
The girls also run their own record label in Denmark called Like a Can of Beans Records where they release music from local upcoming talent.

The six-track EP3 opens with Break Down Your Walls where the clear vocals (think Florence and the Machine) open up with minimal accompaniment. The song builds with layers of vocals and steady build up of instruments and when the drums pound in, the hairs will stand up on the back of your neck. Holy smokes, this is really good stuff with emotion, melody, massive vocals and minimal but just right percussion and instruments…it’s a breakthrough effort and it is very, very good!

Digging Your Grave is a 96 second follow up with that minimal percussive backing and layers of vocals creating an eerie atmosphere. The third track of the six, Downtown, sticks with formula of letting the strong vocals take the lead whilst the musical backing is almost late stage Radiohead with blips and bleeps – but, oh, those vocals that interplay lead and backing…the song creeps up on you and eventually breaks into a slow paced head nodding pleaser.

On Miracle, Nelson Can, remind me a little of Lana Del Ray – maybe it’s the lyrics or the deep, languid female voice but, the illusion is shattered as the song breaks into a faster paced effort reminiscent of Sisters of Mercy…good stuff!

The penultimate song, Move Forward starts with some bass, drums and eclectic keyboards before the rockier vocals kick in and the chorus simply rocks! The EP ends with Stonewall Frank with its Devo like 1980s sound albeit with soaring female voices and a raw edge. It’s a fitting end to an excellent release – check it out here:

See Nelson Can Live:

05 OCT – Rampelys Silkeborg, DK
06 OCT – Studenterhuset, Aalborg, DK
13 OCT – Atlas, Aarhus, DK
14 OCT – Musikhuset Posten, Odense, DK
20 OCT – Pumpehuset, Copenhagen, DK
17 NOV – Sub 89, Reading, UK *
18 NOV – Engine Rooms, Southampton, UK *
19 NOV – Exeter Phoenix, Exeter, UK *
21 NOV – The Globe, Cardiff, UK *
22 NOV – The Fleece, Bristol, UK *
23 NOV – Waterfront, Norwich, UK *

* w/ JAWS




Punk Online

All views and opinions are entirely our own.

We aim to be as accurate as possible with gig dates and venues but cannot be held responsible if any are incorrect. Please check with the venues if you are unsure.