Punk Online

PETER MURPHY announces 5 album CD box via Beggars Arkive

PETER MURPHY announces 5 album CD box via Beggars Arkive

Pete MurphyKnown as the “Godfather of Goth”, Peter Murphy was the vocalist of pioneering post-punk-glam-goth band Bauhaus. With the demise of Bauhaus in 1983, Murphy teamed up with Japan’s former bass player Mick Karn to form Dali’s Car before starting his solo career in 1985. Beggars Arkive is very excited to announce a 5-disc box set celebrating his first five solo albums; Should The World Fail To Fall Apart / Love Hysteria / Deep / Holy Smoke and Cascade. The box, capturing the first ten years, is simply titled Peter Murphy – 5 Albums and it will be released on June 22nd.

Preorders are up now:

Each album is peppered with bonus tracks comprising of period rarities including original demos, single B-sides, early and alternate mixes and many previously unreleased recordings Including “Critic’s Choice”, “Groovy Place”, “Sail On White” and a full band take on “Cool Cool Breeze”. This set also features many production roughs of Peter’s final album for Beggars Banquet, the sublime Cascade, including a stunning seven minute plus early take of the title track, appearing here under its working title of “Satin Nights”.

This lush five CD set is packaged in a hard-cover book and is a fitting tribute to the first decade of Peter Murphy as a solo artist.

Peter will also embark on his long awaited and previously scheduled three week residency at The Chapel in San Francisco, where he will perform these seminal albums in their entirety alongside three special Ruby anniversary Bauhaus shows. The very special guest for those three shows is original Bauhaus bassist David J.



June 26th  – Should the World Fail to Fall Apart

June 28th – Mr Moonlight (Bauhaus set) (featuring David J) (SOLD OUT)

June 29th  – Mr Moonlight (Bauhaus set) (featuring David J) (SOLD OUT)

June 30th – Mr Moonlight (Bauhaus set) (featuring David J)

July 4th – Cascade (early show)

July 4th – Holy Smoke (late show)

July 6th – Dust (early show)

July 6th – Ninth (late show)

July 7th – Love Hysteria (early show)

July 7th – Love Hysteria (late show)

July 8th – Stripped

July 12th – Deep + special encore of selections from Love Hysteria

July 13th – Deep

July 14th – Deep

July 15th – Deep





  1. Canvas Beauty (Romance Version)
  2. The Light Pours Out Of Me
  3. Confessions
  4. Should The World Fail To Fall Apart
  5. Never Man
  6. God Sends
  7. Blue Heart
  8. The Answer Is Clear
  9. Final Solution
  10. Jemal


  1. Canvas Beauty (Up Version)
  2. Should The World Fail To Fall Apart (Version 3)
  3. Stay
  4. Final Solution (Club Mix)
  5. Tale Of The Tongue (Extended version)



  1. All Night Long
  2. His Circle And Hers Meet
  3. Dragnet Drag
  4. Socrates The Python
  5. Indigo Eyes
  6. Time Has Got Nothing To Do With It
  7. Blind Sublime
  8. My Last Two Weeks
  9. Fun Time


  1. Tale Of The Tongue (Single Edit)
  2. I’ve Got A Miniature Secret Camera
  3. Critic’s Choice (previously unreleased demo)
  4. All Night Long (U.S.A. Edit)
  5. Socrates The Python (Demo)
  6. Fun Time (Cabaret Mix) (Demo)



  1. Deep Ocean Vast Sea
  2. Shy
  3. Crystal Wrists
  4. Marlene Dietrich’s Favourite Poem
  5. Seven Veils
  6. The Line Between The Devil’s Teeth (And That Which Cannot Be Repeat)
  7. Cuts You Up
  8. A Strange Kind Of Love (Version One)
  9. Roll Call


  1. Roll Call (Reprise)
  2. A Strange Kind Of Love (Version Two)
  3. The Line Between The Devil’s Teeth (And That Which Cannot Be Repeat) (12” Remix)
  4. Cuts You Up (U.S.A. Alternate Edit)
  5. A Strange Kind Of Love (Remix Edit Version)
  6. Deep Ocean Vast Sea (Instrumental)



  1. Keep Me From Harm
  2. Kill The Hate
  3. You’re So Close
  4. The Sweetest Drop
  5. Low Room
  6. Let Me Love You
  7. Our Secret Garden
  8. Dream Gone By
  9. Hit Song
  10. Volga Boatmen (Outro)


  1. The Sweetest Drop (Rave Edit)
  2. Cool Cool Breeze
  3. You’re So Close (Radio Edit)
  4. The Sweetest Drop (Radio Edit #1)
  5. Hit Song (Single Edit)
  6. The Sweetest Drop (Rave 12” Mix)



  1. Mirror To My Woman’s Mind
  2. Subway
  3. Gliding Like A Whale
  4. Disappearing
  5. Mercy Rain
  6. I’ll Fall with Your Knife
  7. The Scarlet Thing In You
  8. Sails Wave Goodbye
  9. Wild Birds Flock to Me
  10. Huuvola
  11. Cascade


  1. Wild Birds Flock To Me (Production Rough Mix)
  2. Groovy Place (Demo)
  3. Wish (Production Rough Mix)
  4. Sail On White (Production Rough Mix)
  5. Satin Nights (Cascade) (Production Rough Mix)



Punk Online

All views and opinions are entirely our own.

We aim to be as accurate as possible with gig dates and venues but cannot be held responsible if any are incorrect. Please check with the venues if you are unsure.