Punk Online

THE DOUBLECROSS – ‘Keep Bleeding’ Album Review


doublecrossThe opening track of the forthcoming album from The Doublecross takes me right into Husker Du territory. One More Time is a terrific song with melody, layered guitars and a heartily delivered vocal. The Doublecross is actually Jon Greenwood and Keep Bleeding is his third studio album. It is set for release on Friday 7th October.

My Only Friends Are Chemicals has a more emo approach and, like a good deal of the album, is lyrically dealing with dark issues. The album is very well engineered and produced and the fact it was recorded in just nine and a half days adds a feel of urgency and rawness to the songs.

Third up is Fireworks and Butterflies a song that would not be out of place on a Bruce Springsteen/Gaslight Anthem album (that’s a compliment) as the Cardiff based band channel Americana rock in approach.

The Stars That Never Shine features the line “Keep Bleeding through the night” and I am, once again taken into a Grant Hart penned Husker Du era melody full of hooks and power. Although the band never reference the seminal Minneapolis band in their press release, I just can’t get the comparison out of my head!

The Doublecross have recorded a great set of songs from the folk tinged She Might Be The One to heavier punk infused Bad Dreams. They display their versatility with The Wire a song that propels along with an Elastica like riff and then launch into the Wedding Present like Shattered Health. The shoegaze style riff on Hurt People, Hurt People is one of the stand out tracks of the twelve with real power as it churns along.

The album concludes with The Lake with some acoustic guitar supporting a vocal full of pain and longing. It’s a fitting end to a super package and one worth adding to your collection.

Keep Bleeding’ will receive an official launch party on Friday 11th November at the world famous Clwb Ifor Bach in Cardiff. Opening support will come from promising indie punk locals, Pipedream & Hot Mass.

Keep Bleeding will be released on Friday October 7th.


Track Listing

1) One More Time
2) My Only Friends Are Chemicals
3) Fireworks and Butterflies
4) The Stars That Never Shine
5) She Might Be The One
6) Bad Dreams
7) The Wire
8) Shattered Health
9) Hurt People Hurt People
10) 020814
11) Forever Pretending To Sleep
12) The Lake



The Doublecross is a solo project from Welsh singer-songwriter Jon Greenwood. Starting his musical career in the hip-hop/breakbeat crossover band Baby Elephant in the mid-90s he went on to play in various punk, hardcore and indie bands throughout the 2000s. These include The Slowdance, This Hidden Switch, The Modern Farewell and even filled in on guitar for one of his favourite bands Bedford Falls at one time. He is currently playing guitar for the hardcore-punk band Bicycle Thieves, featuring ex-members of the UK hardcore band Wraith.

The Doublecross project began as The Slowdance were coming to an end in 2008 when he started writing his own brand of acoustic rock, heavily influenced by the indie-rock and Americana he had spent much of his youth listening to. In 2009 the debut Doublecross album ’Thing Will Never Change’ was released on the UK punk label Boss Tuneage Records. An adventurous project, Greenwood transformed 12 acoustic songs into full band compositions with the album featuring over 24 guest musicians from various UK music scenes including Lianne Francis of the Funeral For A Friend side-project The Secret Show and Katie Gatt (Personal Best). It was recorded, mixed and mastered in Cardiff by Jim Williams (formerly of UK bands The Take, Bedford Falls and Markers) who also played drums on the album.

Five years passed with Greenwood co-writing and releasing new music with the punk bands This Hidden Switch (featuring members of The Cut Ups and Grand Collapse) and The Modern Farewell (featuring members of The Strike Fades and Featherjaw). Over this period he played countless shows with everyone from hard rock artists such as Mina Caputo (Life Of Agony), Ricky Warwick (The Almighty, Thin Lizzy) to new wave rock/folk heroes Big Country to pop-punk’s Kris Roe (The Ataris). Greenwood recognises his biggest personal achievement as sharing stages with hardcore and emo icons Jonah Matranga (Far, Onelinedrawing) and Walter Schriefels (Gorilla Biscuits, Quicksand, Rival Schools), both of which have had a massive influence on the music of The Doublecross.

The second Doublecross album was recorded and released in 2014 again on Boss Tuneage Records but in alliance with several other UK punk and rock record labels – Aaahh Real Records, WWSBD, Team Beard, Tiny Little Creatures. 5 years on from the debut Doublecross album, ‘The Timeless Destruction’ was a bigger production album featuring Pete Wright (Ducking Punches) and members of the now defunct Norwich band This Business Is Closed. It also featured guest appearances from Lianne Francis (The Secret Show), Livi Sinclair (Hell Money, Neurotic Fiction) and Sally Greenwell (The Brymys). It was recorded, mixed and mastered in Norwich and in Cardiff by Andrew Gunn and Matt Collins (The Grove, Cardiff).

Fast forward to 2016 and the third Doublecross album ‘Keep Bleeding’ is here. A 12-track alternative rock record, it was written and recorded in less than 6 months – a entirely different approach to the first two Doublecross albums. Recorded as a 3-piece featuring Neil Doran (Bicycle Thieves, The Modern Farewell) and Jim Williams once again, it is Greenwood’s most personal and dark work to date. Released on Boss Tuneage Records in alliance with No Panic Records, Aaahh Real Records and Tiny Little Creatures it was recorded by Phil Smith at One Louder in Newport and mixed and mastered by Matt Collins at The Grove in Cardiff.


Punk Online

All views and opinions are entirely our own.

We aim to be as accurate as possible with gig dates and venues but cannot be held responsible if any are incorrect. Please check with the venues if you are unsure.