Punk Online

THE PROFESSIONALS – ‘What In The World’ Album Review


The ProfessionalsThe Professionals are back!

35 years later, the band formed from the ashes of the Sex Pistols by Paul Cook and Steve Jones is back.  The band proudly release their new album What In The World on October 27th 2017, on Automaton Records.

The album is authentic and solid throughout and, as the band state: “We’re not breaking any musical boundaries – we’re doing what we do best. From the heart with energy and integrity.”

The Professionals are joined by a stellar cast of guest guitar players including original member Steve Jones (who plays on three tracks).  Duff McKagen (Guns ‘n’ Roses), Mick Jones (The Clash), Phil Collen (Def Leppard), Marco Pirroni (Adam & The Ants), Chris McCormack (3 Colours Red) and Billy Duffy (The Cult) also join the party.

The album opens with Good Man Down where gravel throated vocals are layered over some chunky guitars and strong beat. The full on rock’n’roll attitude continues with the pacey and powerful Let Go where I was reminded of Charlie and the Subs! The band produce some seriously good sounds with engaging choruses and foot stomping verses. The tribute to Lemmy and Bowie, ‘Going, Going, Gone’ opens with some Pistols style guitar work and the group vocals add to the sorrow of losing two of the best. On Extramadura, The Professionals continue to display group vocals interspersed with some guitar licks and pounding drumbeats that promise some great live action.

At the half-way point, Rewind maintains the momentum with some straight up pub/punk rock full of power and punch and, a dose of pop/punk accessibility. The solo vocal intro to Hats Off builds to a chant along classic and it is followed by the churning New Generation, a song that sounds fresh and relevant as does the entire album.

Take Me Now with Jones, Duffy and Pirroni on guitars shows some restraint as it powers along to a soaring chorus whereas Bad Baby is introduced with a guitar lick reminding me of the Sisters of Mercy and there is a menace to the songs sound. The album concludes with Monkeys where the band leave it all on the floor with a powerful rocker that seals the deal for me. Raunchy, authentic and dirty rock and roll with an edge is what these guys do and they do it well.

To celebrate the release of What In The World The Professionals play a special headline show at London’s Garage on October 28th . The band don’t cover Pistols stuff (apart from Silly Thing) but as the gig’s 40 years to the day from Never Mind The Bollocks was released, they might just add a cover or two!



What In The World track Listing:

  1. Good Man Down feat. Steve Jones & Billy Duffy
  2. Let Go feat. Phil Collen
  3. Going, Going, Gone feat. Steve Jones & Billy Duffy
  4. Extremadura feat. Mick Jones & Victoria Liedtke
  5. Rewind feat. Phil Collen
  6. Hats Off feat. Duff McKagen & Chris McCormack
  7. New Generation feat. Marco Pirroni
  8. Take Me Now feat. Steve Jones, Billy Duffy & Marco Pirroni
  9. Bad Baby
  10. Monkeys feat. Duff McKagen & Phil Collen

The album is available on standard CD, vinyl and as a digital download to pre-order go to http://www.pledgemusic.com/projects/the-professionals-what-in-the-world


The Professionals October UK dates

27th Slade Rooms Wolverhampton

28th  The Garage London

Tickets available for:

Wolverhampton from https://www.theticketfactory.com

London from http://www.ticketweb.co.uk/event/the-professionals-tickets/284319