Punk Online

Yorkshire Rats Stream New Video for ‘Alone Together’

Yorkshire Rats – ‘Alone Together’

Also Announce New Self Titled EP

Out Friday 16th June on Northern Ruff Records


Yorkshire Rats

UK punk rock act Yorkshire Rats are pleased to announce their self-titled EP will be released on Friday 16th June through Northern Ruff Records and is available for pre-order right now from the band’s official website.

To celebrate the news they are streaming a brand new music video for ‘Alone Together’ their first single from the upcoming release. A rapid-fire track which seeks to channel the harder edge of their songwriting.

Commenting on the ‘Alone Together’ vocalist/guitarist, Don Mercy said: “The track is all about the strains of relationships whether that be romantic or political. I guess it’s quite apt with the current political climate and with people seemingly so polarised and at each other’s throats. Musically, I like to think this track shows the faster and more aggressive side of Yorkshire Rats.”

Formed in Pontefract in 2004 the Yorkshire Rats is the brainchild of former Billy No Mates & Abbrasive Wheels’ musician Don Mercy. With several UK & European tours under their belts as well as shows with the likes of CJ Ramone & Rancid the band has quickly built up an army of dedicated fans attracted to their fine blend of So Cal punk and 80s UK influences.

Inspired by the roots-driven punk of American groups like Social Distortion & Lucero as well as faster artists from the old-school like Stiff Little Fingers & The Ramones, Yorkshire Rats have finely tuned their musical output and developed a unique. Mercy’s own brand of songwriting is never shy of grit & gravel, however as is clear on their latest EP they’re never too far from a good melody either.

Following on from their full-length album ‘Sea of Souls’ released through Indeliriumin records in 2015.  Their latest offering was recorded by Sam and Joe Graves (Asking Alexandria/Bullet For My Valentine) at Innersound Studios, York and will be released on Friday 16th June through their own imprint Northern Ruff Records.


Yorkshire Rats are:

Don Mercy – Vocals/ Guitar
Matt Lee – Guitar
Josh Clarke – Bass
Chris Furness – Drums