Punk Online

YOUTH MAN – ‘Five Songs’ EP Review

YOUTH MAN – Five Songs

Youth ManBirmingham punks Youth Man has announced that they have signed to Alcopop! Records and will be releasing their new EP, Five Songs on 29th June 2018.

The band formed in 2012 and following tour dates with the likes of Trash Talk, Letlive, TIGERCUB and more, the duo have gained a host of praise from national press including NME, Rolling Stone Magazine, Alternative Press, Rock Sound, Kerrang!,

This EP is about as varied and eclectic as a punk band gets with the opening song, Mainland matching some math-punk percussion with jazzy influences, chunky riffs and eerie vocals that veer from spoken word to expressive melodies.

The band maintains a unique approach on the foot stomping Valley Girl replete with off-kilter guitar licks and pounding beats. The vocals experiment with melodic harmonies and anguished shouts as the track builds and builds the powerful riffs and rhythm. On Constantly Youth Man channel Royal Blood with a dirty riff albeit the vocals provide a harsher sound full of spit and vinegar!

The penultimate song, I Don’t Know is an atmospheric track with a booming bass driving along in an Elastica style sound replete with some excellent vocal interchanges. The EP ends with Statuesque where hardcore bass meets jazz guitar and a soaring chorus reminding me of the Pixies with a little Fugazi for good measure.

This one is different for sure but variety is the spice of life and the power is ever-present!

Check out Five Songs by Youth Man online:




Punk Online

All views and opinions are entirely our own.

We aim to be as accurate as possible with gig dates and venues but cannot be held responsible if any are incorrect. Please check with the venues if you are unsure.